The first entry is always the pin's source. Overall confidence is a weighted average of how firmly each reference supports the start and end times used above; a reference counts half as much for every 180 days older than the newest.
Documented physical milestone or dated progress/reporting marker. Period-end dates represent only the reported month/quarter; they do not invent an exact operation date. Source estimates are labelled and not treated as confirmed future opening dates.
Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly visiting Obelisk’s Phase 1 opening, published January 12, 2026. This is an inauguration/visitor image, not evidence that the full two-phase project was operating on that date.[1]
Scatec[4] June 15, 2025 publishes total estimated capex of USD590 million for the full solar-plus-battery project; USD479.1 million financing is not the cost. Solar phases are 561 MW and 564 MW (1,125 MW total). The budget includes the 100 MW/200 MWh battery system; storage is not added to generation capacity. Obelisk solar and battery project: published generating capacity 1125 MW. Operator-reported solar capacities 561 + 564 MW; solar AC/DC basis not specified in release
Scatec[3] confirms final-phase commercial operation August 12, 2026, following first-phase COD February 2026. Full solar capacity is 1,125 MW and expected annual energy exceeds 3,000 GWh. Expected energy is not measured annual production.
Something missing or wrong? Say it in your own words: a link that backs this pin up, a different start or end date and why, or a fact it lacks or gets wrong. The AI checks it against this pin's sources, searches for better ones, and adds any page that backs you up. The pin's own sources still count most. A picture that shows something else, or shows it badly, is looked at too, and moved down or replaced.
Scatec June 15, 2025 publishes total estimated capex of USD590 million for the full solar-plus-battery project; USD479.1 million financing is not the cost. Solar phases are 561 MW and 564 MW (1,125 MW total). The budget includes the 100 MW/200 MWh battery system; storage is not added to generation capacity.[3][4]
Scatec June 15, 2025 publishes total estimated capex of USD590 million for the full solar-plus-battery project; USD479.1 million financing is not the cost. Solar phases are 561 MW and 564 MW (1,125 MW total). The budget includes the 100 MW/200 MWh battery system; storage is not added to generation capacity. Obelisk solar and battery project: published generating capacity 1125 MW. Operator-reported solar capacities 561 + 564 MW; solar AC/DC basis not specified in release[3]
Scatec confirms final-phase commercial operation August 12, 2026, following first-phase COD February 2026. Full solar capacity is 1,125 MW and expected annual energy exceeds 3,000 GWh. Expected energy is not measured annual production.[4]
Retained only with documented physical construction, commissioning or 2025–2026 opening and published project-specific costs and electrical output. Costs use the published scope and currency; no benchmark estimates or currency conversions. MW is power capacity, not annual electricity production. Expected annual energy, where given, is a forecast. The map point is a reported plant/project location and may be approximate. Matching inventory views and excluded expansion proposals are not additive capacity.
Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly visiting Obelisk’s Phase 1 opening, published January 12, 2026. This is an inauguration/visitor image, not evidence that the full two-phase project was operating on that date. Credit: Business Today Egypt; individual photographer not identified; article reports the Egyptian Cabinet announcement. Source and gallery; original media.