The first entry is always the pin's source. Overall confidence is a weighted average of how firmly each reference supports the start and end times used above; a reference counts half as much for every 180 days older than the newest.
Published target: 2027. Construction is documented, but this future completion/operation milestone is estimated. The date is a year/month-end timeline marker and is not a confirmed exact opening day. Source: https://www.equinor[2].com/news/20250102-securing-financial-close-empire-wind[3]-1
Equinor January 2, 2025 publishes approximately USD5 billion expected total capital investment, including South Brooklyn Marine Terminal use fees and the effect of expected future investment tax credits. The financing package above USD3 billion is separate. Published electric generating project rating for Empire Wind[3] 1: 810 MW. Basis: Operator-reported electric generating capacity; not annual energy production. Official project announcement identifies 810 MW and distinguishes financing from project capital expenditure.
Empire Wind’s operator construction page shows offshore installation and identifies the substation installed in January 2026. Empire Wind 1 is expected to be fully operational in 2027. The offshore site and South Brooklyn Marine Terminal serve different functions; the terminal is not the generation site.
Something missing or wrong? Say it in your own words: a link that backs this pin up, a different start or end date and why, or a fact it lacks or gets wrong. The AI checks it against this pin's sources, searches for better ones, and adds any page that backs you up. The pin's own sources still count most. A picture that shows something else, or shows it badly, is looked at too, and moved down or replaced.
2027. Equinor identifies an expected commercial-operation date in 2027 for Empire Wind 1.[2]
Construction is verified; the completion date remains an estimate. The timeline marker represents the published target year/month, not a confirmed opening day.
Equinor describes total Empire Wind capital expenditure estimated at $5 billion after tax credits, covering 54 bottom-fixed turbines and the Brooklyn cable landfall. This is a tax-credit-adjusted estimate, not gross pre-credit cost and not the over-$3 billion financing package. Empire Wind 1 has an 810 MW generation rating and documented offshore construction; full operation is targeted for 2027.[2][3]
Equinor January 2, 2025 publishes approximately USD5 billion expected total capital investment, including South Brooklyn Marine Terminal use fees and the effect of expected future investment tax credits. The financing package above USD3 billion is separate. Published electric generating project rating for Empire Wind 1: 810 MW. Basis: Operator-reported electric generating capacity; not annual energy production. Official project announcement identifies 810 MW and distinguishes financing from project capital expenditure.[2]
Empire Wind’s operator construction page shows offshore installation and identifies the substation installed in January 2026. Empire Wind 1 is expected to be fully operational in 2027. The offshore site and South Brooklyn Marine Terminal serve different functions; the terminal is not the generation site.[3]
Retained only with documented physical construction, commissioning or 2025–2026 opening and published project-specific costs and electrical output. Costs use the published scope and currency; no benchmark estimates or currency conversions. MW is power capacity, not annual electricity production. Expected annual energy, where given, is a forecast. The map point is a reported plant/project location and may be approximate. Matching inventory views and excluded expansion proposals are not additive capacity.
Offshore installation photograph from Empire Wind’s operator project page. Credit: Empire Wind / Equinor; photographer not named on source page. Source page; original operator image.
Empire Wind offshore substation installation image published in the operator construction gallery; the page identifies installation in January 2026. Credit: Empire Wind / Equinor; photographer not named on source page. Source page; original operator image.
Offshore installation photograph from Empire Wind’s operator project page. Credit: Empire Wind / Equinor; photographer not named on source page. Operator source page; original image.
Empire Wind offshore substation installation image published in the operator construction gallery; the page identifies installation in January 2026. Credit: Empire Wind / Equinor; photographer not named on source page. Operator source page; original image.
Underwater rock layer around an Empire Wind foundation. Capture date not separately stated. Credit: Empire Wind / Equinor; photographer not named. Source and gallery; original media.
Empire Wind inter-array cable work, from the official offshore-installation gallery. Capture date not separately stated. Credit: Empire Wind / Equinor; photographer not named. Source and gallery; original media.