The first entry is always the pin's source. Overall confidence is a weighted average of how firmly each reference supports the start and end times used above; a reference counts half as much for every 180 days older than the newest.
Published target: 2027. Construction is documented, but this future completion/operation milestone is estimated. The date is a year/month-end timeline marker and is not a confirmed exact opening day. Source: https://lge-ku.com[2][3]/mc5
Published project-specific cost for Mill Creek 5: USD 9.02e+08. Basis: Published project-specific capital/construction estimate. Published electric generating project rating for Mill Creek 5: 645 MW. Basis: Current operator page: 645 MW nameplate.[1]
LG&E and KU broke ground on Mill Creek 5 on November 13, 2024 and describe a 640 MW natural-gas combined-cycle unit expected in 2027. EIA’s[1] August 2026 construction record independently supports ongoing work. The operator’s 640 MW project rating and EIA generator nameplate rating use different reported figures; retain both labels. November 13, 2024 groundbreaking verifies physical construction.
Something missing or wrong? Say it in your own words: a link that backs this pin up, a different start or end date and why, or a fact it lacks or gets wrong. The AI checks it against this pin's sources, searches for better ones, and adds any page that backs you up. The pin's own sources still count most. A picture that shows something else, or shows it badly, is looked at too, and moved down or replaced.
2027. The current operator project page identifies construction underway and expected customer supply in 2027.[2]
Construction is verified; the completion date remains an estimate. The timeline marker represents the published target year/month, not a confirmed opening day.
LG&E/KU’s current Mill Creek 5 page states a 645 MW nameplate rating, $902 million cost, construction underway and estimated completion in 2027. Its 2024 groundbreaking release used 640 MW; the current page is used for the primary output rating. EIA’s separate 740 MW figure is retained as inventory context, not extra generating capacity.[2][3]
Published project-specific cost for Mill Creek 5: USD 9.02e+08. Basis: Published project-specific capital/construction estimate. Published electric generating project rating for Mill Creek 5: 645 MW. Basis: Current operator page: 645 MW nameplate.[2]
LG&E and KU broke ground on Mill Creek 5 on November 13, 2024 and describe a 640 MW natural-gas combined-cycle unit expected in 2027. EIA’s August 2026 construction record independently supports ongoing work. The operator’s 640 MW project rating and EIA generator nameplate rating use different reported figures; retain both labels. November 13, 2024 groundbreaking verifies physical construction.[3]
Retained only with documented physical construction, commissioning or 2025–2026 opening and published project-specific costs and electrical output. Costs use the published scope and currency; no benchmark estimates or currency conversions. MW is power capacity, not annual electricity production. Expected annual energy, where given, is a forecast. The map point is a reported plant/project location and may be approximate. Matching inventory views and excluded expansion proposals are not additive capacity.
Operator rendering of Mill Creek 5. This is an illustration of the planned unit, not a photograph of a completed plant. Credit: LG&E and KU; artist not named on source page. Source page; original operator image.
Mill Creek 5 groundbreaking ceremony, November 13, 2024, as published in the operator release. Credit: LG&E and KU; photographer not named on source page. Source page; original operator image.
Operator rendering of Mill Creek 5. This is an illustration of the planned unit, not a photograph of a completed plant. Credit: LG&E and KU; artist not named on source page. Operator source page; original image.
Mill Creek 5 groundbreaking ceremony, November 13, 2024, as published in the operator release. Credit: LG&E and KU; photographer not named on source page. Operator source page; original image.
Mill Creek 5 construction site, from LG&E and KU’s project gallery. Capture date not separately stated. Credit: LG&E and KU; photographer not named. Source and gallery; original media.
Mill Creek 5 construction site, from LG&E and KU’s project gallery. Capture date not separately stated. Credit: LG&E and KU; photographer not named. Source and gallery; original media.