CONFIRMED90% CONFIDENCEHappened as dated, per arstechnica.com[1]: "…rcutting the establishment. Amazon just announced its new Local Register service, a mobile card read…"
Amazon's card reader has promised customers who register for the service before October 31 will only be charged 1.75 percent on all transaction fees made through the swipe reader until January 1, 2016. Outside of that deal, merchants using Amazon Local Register are charged 2.5 percent for each swiped transaction and 2.75 percent for all manually keyed-in purchases.
Amazon announced Local Register on 13 August 2014, a $10 mobile card reader and free app for merchants competing with Square and PayPal[1][2][3][4]
Customers signing up before October 31 pay 1.75 percent per swipe until January 1, 2016; otherwise 2.5 percent per swipe and 2.75 percent for keyed-in payments; the first $10 in fees is credited back[1][2]
Square charges 2.75 percent and PayPal 2.7 percent per swipe, with free readers[1]
Available that day on Amazon.com and from August 19 at Staples; works with iOS 7, Kindle Fire and select Android phones; funds deposit within one business day[2][3]
Notable features
Local Register pairs a card reader with a free mobile app for smartphones and tablets that accepts all major credit and debit cards at a flat rate with no hidden fees and no long-term contracts[2]
The stabilized card reader limits swivel so a card can be swiped once, and each transaction is backed by the same services that securely power Amazon.com purchases[2]
The app includes password-protected reporting on bottom-line performance, sales trends and peak sales times; merchants get Amazon's customer support by phone and email (Kindle Fire HDX owners also the Mayday button) and can buy compatible cash drawers, receipt printers, cases and stands on Amazon.com[2]
The reader has no EMV capability, ahead of the October 2015 liability shift[1]
The first entry is always the pin's source. Overall confidence is a weighted average of how firmly each reference supports the start and end times used above; a reference counts half as much for every 180 days older than the newest.
macrumors.com· Published Aug 13, 2014· 2% of score
MacRumors independently corroborates Amazon launching the iOS-compatible Local Register card reader on 13 August 2014, aligning with the pin's stored date.
washingtonpost.com· Published Aug 13, 2014· 2% of score
The Washington Post's own headline and 13 August 2014 publish date report Amazon going "bricks-and-mortar" with its mobile card reader, matching the pin's stored date, though the page itself could not be fetched to quote directly.
Suggest a correction
Something missing or wrong? Say it in your own words: a link that backs this pin up, a different start or end date and why, or a fact it lacks or gets wrong. The AI checks it against this pin's sources, searches for better ones, and adds any page that backs you up. The pin's own sources still count most.
ESTIMATED67% CONFIDENCE58 days agoNo source states a release day. Notebookcheck's[3] US launch article, published July 27, 2026 (https://www.notebookcheck.net/Fiio-Snowsky-Echo-Nano-launches-in-US-MP3-player-channeling-iconic-Sony-Network-Walkman-vibes.1352560.0.html), reports the Echo Nano as 'now available on Amazon[1] for $49.99'. Dated to that day, July 27, 2026, as the earliest day it is documented as on sale in the US; the exact first day of sale is not stated anywhere, so this is an estimate.
Distraction-free portable hi-fi player supporting microSD cards without an app.
ESTIMATED74% CONFIDENCEin 7 daysGear Patrol[2][4] (https://www.gearpatrol.com/audio/sonos[1][3][5]-play-speaker-sand/) reports the sand finish revealed 2 September 2026 with pre-orders opening immediately and shipping 'at the end of the month'. No exact ship day is published, so the pin is dated to the last day of September 2026 as an estimate.
Portable wireless speaker now available in a new sand finish.
ESTIMATED69% CONFIDENCE22 days agoRoland[1] announced the FP-40 on 1 September 2026 and its press release gives no availability date (https://www.roland.com/us/company/press_releases/2026/Roland-Unveils-FP-40-Digital-Piano-and-Piano-Spher/). Sonic State's same-day report says it is 'available now for USD 749' (https://sonicstate.com[3]/news/2026/09/01/fp-40-roland-s-first-wi-fi-piano/), but some retailers still listed it as pre-order into late September, so the day is estimated.
First Roland digital piano with built-in Wi-Fi and the Piano Sphere learning app.
CONFIRMED82% CONFIDENCE11.9 years agoHappened as dated, per wpcentral.com[1]: "Your membership journey starts here. Keep exploring and earning more as a member. La…"
3D Touch is said to be the first major hardware/software innovation that Microsoft will inculcate into the high-end Lumia devices. The software giant is said to include APIs for gestures, side interactions and heat maps so that third-party devs can access the 3D Touch technology for their apps. As for the McLaren device itself, the latest rumors indicate a 5.2-inch full-HD screen, 20MP camera along with a 64 GB internal storage variant.
CONFIRMED83% CONFIDENCE13.0 years agoHappened as dated, per apple[2].com[1]: "…. Video replay of today’s event will be available shortly. Video replay of today’s event will be ava…"
Samsung Digital City, Suwon, Gyeonggi Province, South KoreaSamsung
CONFIRMED85% CONFIDENCE7 days agoStated as firm, per news.samsung.com[1]: "Rollout starts today, Sept. 16, starting with the Galaxy S26, S26+, and S26 Ultra."
Samsung started pushing One UI 9 to the Galaxy S26, S26+ and S26 Ultra on 16 September 2026, after the software's debut on the Z Fold8 Ultra, Fold8 and Flip8. It adds My FanCam subject tracking, editable Now Brief cards and a Warranty and Care panel in Settings.
CONFIRMED90% CONFIDENCE5 days agoAvailability date from Apple's[1][2][3] own newsroom announcement (https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/09/introducing-apple-watch-series-12-with-the-all-new-health-sensing-system/): pre-orders opened on announcement day, September 9, 2026, with in-store availability Friday, September 18, 2026. Apple's follow-up (https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/09/get-ready-to-experience-iphone-18-pro-the-new-apple-watch-lineup-and-airpods-5/) repeats that Apple Watch is 'available in stores and online worldwide beginning Friday, September 18'.
Smartwatch with an S11 chip, upgraded heart-rate sensors, and a new Readiness feature.
CONFIRMED85% CONFIDENCE114 days agoHappened as dated, per NVIDIA's[1][3] release: "TAIPEI, Taiwan, June 01, 2026 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- NVIDIA GTC Taipei -- NVIDIA today announced the NVIDIA Isaac GR00T Reference Humanoid Robot."
At GTC Taipei, NVIDIA announced the first open humanoid reference design: a Unitree H2 Plus chassis with Sharpa Wave five-finger tactile hands for the body, and Jetson Thor compute plus the open Isaac GR00T stack for the brain, aimed at academic robotics labs.
CONFIRMED76% CONFIDENCE11.6 years agoHappened as dated, per arstechnica.com[1]: "…Gig.” The Snapdragon 810 is expected to ship in the first half of 2015. Qualcomm did not disclose fi…"
Qualcomm announced that it completed the purchase of Wilocity and will soon deliver "a family of tri-band platforms that combine Qualcomm Atheros, Inc.ís Wi-Fi and WiGig solutions to significantly increase performance and enable cutting-edge wireless applications. The initial tri-band platform is a reference design based on the Qualcomm Snapdragon 810, which is the worldís first mobile platform designed to support WiGig." The Snapdragon 810 is expected to ship in the first half of 2015.