The first entry is always the pin's source. Overall confidence is a weighted average of how firmly each reference supports the start and end times used above; a reference counts half as much for every 180 days older than the newest.
Published target: Grid connection by end of 2030. Construction is documented, but this future completion/operation milestone is estimated. The date is a year/month-end timeline marker and is not a confirmed exact opening day. Source: https://www.opg[3][4].com/projects-services/projects/nuclear/smr/darlington-smr/
Darlington New Nuclear Project aerial site view published by Canada’s Major Projects Office. Photo capture date is not stated on the page; the wider site should not be read as proof that all four reactors are under construction.
Published project-specific cost for Darlington New Nuclear Project — Unit 1: CAD 7.7e+09. Basis: Unit 1 plus shared infrastructure; includes interest, escalation and contingency.[1]
Published electric generating project rating for Darlington New Nuclear Project — Unit 1: 300 MW. Basis: Operator-reported electric generating capacity; not annual energy production. Operator confirms 300 MWe per unit and summer-2026 reactor-building construction after basemat installation.[1]
Something missing or wrong? Say it in your own words: a link that backs this pin up, a different start or end date and why, or a fact it lacks or gets wrong. The AI checks it against this pin's sources, searches for better ones, and adds any page that backs you up. The pin's own sources still count most. A picture that shows something else, or shows it badly, is looked at too, and moved down or replaced.
About 3,700 jobs annually for 65 years
“will sustain approximately 3,700 jobs annually for 65 years”
About 1.2 GW across the Darlington site
“about 1.2 GW”
First unit slated to begin commercial service by the end of 2030
“slated to begin commercial service by the end of 2030”
Province authorized full-scale construction on 8 May 2025
“The province on May 8 formally authorized OPG to proceed with full-scale nuclear construction”
Ontario authorizes OPG to proceed with full-scale construction
“The province on May 8 formally authorized OPG to proceed with full-scale nuclear construction”
First unit slated for commercial service
“slated to begin commercial service by the end of 2030”
Grid connection by end of 2030. OPG’s planning goal is completion of the first SMR by the end of this decade and grid connection by the end of 2030. Only Unit 1 is included; three future reactors require further approvals.[4]
Construction is verified; the completion date remains an estimate. The timeline marker represents the published target year/month, not a confirmed opening day.
OPG publishes a C$7.7 billion release-quality budget for the first SMR and shared site infrastructure: C$6.1 billion Unit 1 plus C$1.6 billion common systems/services. The budget includes interest, escalation and contingency. Included output is the first 300 MWe reactor under physical construction; the three additional proposed units and their combined C$20.9 billion fleet budget are excluded.[3][4]
Published project-specific cost for Darlington New Nuclear Project — Unit 1: CAD 7.7e+09. Basis: Unit 1 plus shared infrastructure; includes interest, escalation and contingency.[3]
Published electric generating project rating for Darlington New Nuclear Project — Unit 1: 300 MW. Basis: Operator-reported electric generating capacity; not annual energy production. Operator confirms 300 MWe per unit and summer-2026 reactor-building construction after basemat installation.[4]
Retained only with documented physical construction, commissioning or 2025–2026 opening and published project-specific costs and electrical output. Costs use the published scope and currency; no benchmark estimates or currency conversions. MW is power capacity, not annual electricity production. Expected annual energy, where given, is a forecast. The map point is a reported plant/project location and may be approximate. Matching inventory views and excluded expansion proposals are not additive capacity.
Darlington New Nuclear Project aerial site view published by Canada’s Major Projects Office. Photo capture date is not stated on the page; the wider site should not be read as proof that all four reactors are under construction. Credit: Government of Canada / Major Projects Office; photographer not identified. Source and gallery; original media.