CONFIRMED76% CONFIDENCEHappened as dated, per arstechnica.com[1]: "…Gig.” The Snapdragon 810 is expected to ship in the first half of 2015. Qualcomm did not disclose fi…"
Start
Mar 2, 201592% CONFIDENCEfrom prnewswire.com · possible Mar 2 – 14, 2015
Qualcomm announced that it completed the purchase of Wilocity and will soon deliver "a family of tri-band platforms that combine Qualcomm Atheros, Inc.ís Wi-Fi and WiGig solutions to significantly increase performance and enable cutting-edge wireless applications. The initial tri-band platform is a reference design based on the Qualcomm Snapdragon 810, which is the worldís first mobile platform designed to support WiGig." The Snapdragon 810 is expected to ship in the first half of 2015.
Qualcomm completed its purchase of Wilocity, the startup behind 60GHz “WiGig” (802.11ad) chips, announcing the close the day before the 3 July 2014 report; financial terms were not disclosed, though rumours in May had put the price at $300 million, and Qualcomm Atheros had invested in Wilocity since 2008[1]
The initial tri-band platform is a reference design based on the Snapdragon 810, “the world's first mobile platform designed to support WiGig”, expected to ship in the first half of 2015[1]
By Mobile World Congress on 2 March 2015 the Snapdragon 810 had reached a commercial smartphone, LG's newly released G Flex 2, which Qualcomm demonstrated with its X10 LTE modem and Ericsson infrastructure at Category 9 LTE-A speeds of up to 450 Mbps — bearing out the first-half-2015 expectation[1][4]
Neither Qualcomm press release of 2 March 2015 mentions WiGig, 60GHz or tri-band: the connectivity release covers LTE-Advanced carrier aggregation, LTE-Broadcast, LTE/Wi-Fi convergence, LTE-U and a Qualcomm Atheros smart bulb, and the other previews the Zeroth cognitive computing platform and the Snapdragon 820[3][4]
The Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi silicon shown at that MWC was the QCA6174 2-stream 802.11ac chipset, in NETGEAR's new AirCard Category 9 mobile hotspot built on the Snapdragon X12 LTE modem — again 5GHz 802.11ac rather than the 60GHz WiGig of the tri-band plan[4]
Dell had already released a wireless dock using Wilocity chips, connecting a laptop to USB storage and up to two monitors[1]
Note the date gap: the pin is dated 2 March 2015, the day of the two Qualcomm MWC press releases, while the article announcing the Wilocity purchase and the tri-band platforms is dated 3 July 2014[1][3][4]
Notable features
Qualcomm will combine Wilocity's 60GHz chips with its own Wi-Fi chips into tri-band platforms covering 2.4, 5 and 60GHz[1]
60GHz signals are easily blocked, so sender and receiver must be in the same room; WiGig is technically capable of 7Gbps, Wilocity's early chips reached 4.6 Gbps, and a 4.6Gbps smartphone chip was expected to ship that year[1]
The Snapdragon 810 (MSM8994) at the heart of the reference design has eight cores - four 1.958 GHz Cortex-A57 and four 1.555 GHz Cortex-A53 - with an Adreno 430 GPU, dual-channel LPDDR4 memory and support for a 55 MP camera and 4K video capture at 30fps[2]
Netgear's Nighthawk X6 AC3200 “Tri-Band” router claims 3.2Gbps combined but uses one 2.4GHz and two 5GHz bands with no 60GHz; Qualcomm-based routers should beat it, “although not until next year”[1]
The first entry is always the pin's source. Overall confidence is a weighted average of how firmly each reference supports the start and end times used above; a reference counts half as much for every 180 days older than the newest.
prnewswire.com· Published Mar 2, 2015· Starts Mar 2, 2015 ✓· 0% of score
Qualcomm's own press release, issued at Mobile World Congress on 2 March 2015, announces the tri-band Wi-Fi/WiGig platform combining its Wi-Fi and Wilocity WiGig technology, matching the pin's event and closely matching its stored mid-March 2015 date.[1]
s204.q4cdn.com· Published Mar 2, 2015· Starts Mar 2, 2015· 0% of score
Qualcomm's own investor-relations copy of the same 2 March 2015 MWC press release, independently confirming the announcement date.[1]
Suggest a correction
Something missing or wrong? Say it in your own words: a link that backs this pin up, a different start or end date and why, or a fact it lacks or gets wrong. The AI checks it against this pin's sources, searches for better ones, and adds any page that backs you up. The pin's own sources still count most.
CONFIRMED82% CONFIDENCE26 days agoStereoNET[2] (https://www.stereonet.com/news/mcintosh-cs7500-preamp-streams-its-way-in-as-your-high-end-hi-fi-hub) reports the CS7500 as 'available from 28th August' 2026, two days after McIntosh's 26 August announcement. That stated on-sale day is used as the pin date.
High-end streaming preamplifier combining an 8-channel 32-bit DAC with versatile connectivity.
CONFIRMED90% CONFIDENCE12.1 years agoHappened as dated, per wpcentral.com[1]: "Your membership journey starts here. Keep exploring and earning more as a member. La…"
Broadcom announced a new Wi-Fi and Bluetooth combo chip today that the manufacturer claims will double wireless networking performance of high-end smartphones and tablets. The hardware vendor claims that users spend an estimated four to five hours everyday on Wi-Fi, and that with the new chipset, they will be able to download and stream content twice as fast as current-gen devices and with less lag.
ESTIMATED66% CONFIDENCEin 68 daysYamaha's[1] WXC-70A was announced 27 August 2026 with availability stated only as November 2026 (https://www.ecoustics[3].com/products/yamaha-wxa-70a-wxc-70a/). With no on-sale day published, the pin is dated to the last day of that month, 30 November 2026, as an estimate.
Compact streaming preamplifier supporting AirPlay 2, Roon, and hi-res audio without amplification.
CONFIRMED83% CONFIDENCE48 days agoTechPowerUp's[3] release report (https://www.techpowerup.com/350243/creative[1]-releases-xf1-desktop-speakers-with-in-built-hi-res-dac) and SoundGuys[2] both date Creative's global launch of the XF1 to 6 August 2026, on sale that day from Creative's own store at $179.99. That launch day is used as the pin date.
Powered computer speakers with a bi-amp configuration and LDAC Bluetooth support.
CONFIRMED85% CONFIDENCE8 days agoThe Absolute Sound's[3] announcement of September 9, 2026 (https://www.theabsolutesound.com/articles/introducing-the-marantz-mcr-60n/) states the MCR 60n and MCR 60n DAB 'will be available from authorized Marantz retailers and Marantz.com[1] from September 15th 2026'. September 15, 2026 is the on-sale day.
All-in-one hi-fi system combining a CD player, phono stage, and streaming amplification.
CONFIRMED89% CONFIDENCE50 days agoDJI[1] launched the Mic Mini 2S on 4 August 2026: 'The DJI Mic Mini 2S is available starting today in most global regions' (https://petapixel.com[2]/2026/08/04/the-mic-mini-2s-adds-internal-recording-to-djis-smallest-lav-system/). Note it was not released in the United States.
Wireless microphone system with 32-bit floating-point recording and four transmitters.
CONFIRMED75% CONFIDENCE6.3 years agoHappened as dated, per hexus.net[1]: "…llular modem product news, the XMM 7660 was announced. This is an LTE modem that delivers Cat-19 cap…"
5G promises greater speed, higher capacity, and low latency to our essential high-tech smart connected devices. Intel wants to make the transition to 5G smooth and seamless and with this in mind has designed a powerful end-to-end 5G solution. The Intel XMM 8000 series is Intel's first family of commercial 5G multi-mode modems, operating in both sub-6GHz and millimetre wave global spectrum bands. Intel hopes to gather a mass of design wins for the XMM 8000 in PC, phones, and even vehicles.
ESTIMATED75% CONFIDENCEin 68 daysForbes[4]' announcement piece (https://www.forbes.com/sites/marksparrow/2026/08/27/yamaha[1]-extends-hi-fi-lineup-with-two-premium-compact-streamers/) states the WXA-70A was announced 27 August 2026 and 'will become available in November 2026' for $1,300. Only a month is given, so the pin is dated to 30 November 2026 as an estimate.
Compact streaming amplifier delivering 70-105 watts per channel with modern connectivity.
CONFIRMED87% CONFIDENCEin 6 daysGear Patrol's[3] announcement coverage (https://www.gearpatrol.com/audio/sonos[1][4]-ace-ultra-announcement-price-availability/) and Sonos's newsroom both state the $449 Ace Ultra begins shipping 29 September 2026, after its 1 September announcement. That shipping day is used as the pin date.
Next-generation wireless headphones with enhanced noise cancellation and a Headphone Linking feature.
CONFIRMED86% CONFIDENCE14 days agoEngadget's[4] launch report of September 9, 2026 (https://www.engadget.com/2253160/audio-technicas-new-wireless-ath-al5nc-completes-its-open-back-headphone-lineup/) states the ATH-AL5NC 'are available today for $279', so September 9, 2026 is the day they went on sale.
Wireless open-back headphones with 53mm drivers and LDAC hi-res audio support.
CONFIRMED90% CONFIDENCE9.2 years agoHappened as dated, per hexus.net[1]: "Intel[2] Movidius Neural Compute Stick available for US$79 Tags: Intel (NASDAQ:INTC) Quick Link: HE…"
Offers more than 100 GFLOPS of inference performance within a 1W power envelope.